Windows 10 Roll-out Started


Some of you may not know as yet but Windows 10 roll-out started this week. If you are using Windows 7 or Windows 8/8.1 you would have seen a Windows icon in your task bar inviting you to reserve your free upgrade to Windows 10. If you did, then you’ll soon be upgraded.

Some time after 1:00am while doing some school work on July 29th, I spotted a post from a colleague stating that Microsoft had commenced pushing out Windows 10 to computers of users who had made reservations. Since I had reserved my copy I went to check to see if I had the installation on my machine as well. Indeed it had started downloading.

To check if your downloaded has started do the following:

  1. Access the C:/ drive
  2. Press the Atl key on the keyboard to bring of the menu bar
  3. Go to Tools -> Folder Options
  4. Select the View tab and click the radio button Show hidden files, folders and drives then select the OK button.
    Folder optionsNow in the window showing the contents of the C:/ drive you will now see a folder named $Windows.~BT. 
  5. Right click the folder and select Properties. The files size should be about 5.46GB. If not then you should see the size count progressing, meaning that files are being downloaded.Win 10 Installation Folder

Microsoft is way too eager to have persons running the new version of Windows. Well at least that’s how I feel. I have no intention of upgrading until I finish my exams next month, but Windows apparently thinks that was too long :). On Thursday morning at about 9am I got a prompt that a restart was required to install new updates. As per usual I postponed for 4 hours. A few minutes after I got the prompt again, this time the postpone option was disabled. Like, really MS!

I thought yup they must be trying to do the upgrade without even having the courtesy to notify me. Well the PC configured updates and restarted to Windows 7. I checked the Windows update log to see that it indeed had attempted to upgrade to Windows 10, but failed. The lack of free hard drive space was the only thing that prevented the forced upgrade from being successfully executed.

Based on an article on Neowin’s website yesterday, Windows 10 is said to be running on 67 million PCs already, Microsoft claims that 14 million upgrades occurred within 24 hours. The article goes further to say that Microsoft wants to have 1 billions Windows 10 users within the next 2-3 years.

Well Windows 10, I’ll see you at the end of August.

Posted on August 1, 2015, in How-Tos, Tech and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

