Catching Up: Photography Development


Working a full-time job and pursuing a degree part-time doesn’t leave much room for spare time to do other activities. Spending the hours from 9am – 5pm at work six (6) days a week and then school 5pm – 9pm five (5) days a week is really taxing, but as the old Jamaican saying goes “Ef yuh waan good yuh nose haffi run”. (Translation: If you want good, your nose has to run. Meaning: To be successful you must work hard.)

Despite the scarcity of time, I do try to squeeze in some time for an activity that I really love; Photography. When I find the time I read through Facebook groups dedicated to photography, read content on websites dedicated to teaching various aspects photography, watch YouTube and other instructional videos. From time to time I seek to put the information I have consumed into practise, by going out and shooting, engaging in trial and error, seeking to create images that are visually pleasing.

It has been a fun journey. Learning about new areas of photography, seeing alternative ways of producing similar results in capturing an image and trying my hand at portrait retouching. At first I tried retouching with a mouse that was really cumbersome and left my hand feeling uncomfortable. To mitigate this, I acquired a Huion H610 Digital Graphics Tablet that erased the negative effects of using a mouse to retouch and also sped up the workflow. There was value gained interaction from both local and overseas photographers who were eager to share what they knew in a bid to guide the development of young photographers and by extention ensure that the craft maintains a high level of output. I also entered in the 28 Day Photo Challenge this past February, hosted by local photographer, Gabre Cameron, where I placed second :D. Four (4) of the images in the product section below were entries into that competition.

Below are some of my favorite images taken over the past 11 months. I hope you like them. (Click on the images to view them larger.)

Architecture

Lunar

Food

Nature

Landscape

Product

Portraiture

All images were taken with a combination of the following camera and lenses:

  • Canon Rebel XT
  • Canon EF-S 18-55mm f3.5-5.6
  • Canon EF 50mm f1.8
  • Sigma 70-300 f4-5.6 DG Macro

There are other areas, styles and techniques in photography that I want to explore, but I don’t have the required equipment for those just yet. One really cool area of interest is Astrophotography. One of our local photographers, Sean Murray, has awesome captures of the milky way that just inspires. Dylan Patrick, a really talented headshot photographer, utilizes a style of getting really shallow depth of field images out doors, shooting at f3.2 with a 70-200mm f2.8 lens. He accomplishes this using High Speed Sync (HSS). To do this one would need speedlites and remote triggers that support HSS. The lens coupled with the HSS equipment attracts a pretty hefty sum, but hoping to get to those heights some day. After all I see photography as part of my retirement plan, when I can no longer ply my trade in the Information Technology field :). If you feel so inclined, feel free to offer a donation to my photography development using the button below, as I seek to build upon my exciting hobby. I would be greatly appreciative.

Posted on June 27, 2015, in Geneneral, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

