An Unexpected Kindness


I witnessed an unexpected act of kindness and compassion which in its simplicity, brought on a smile not only facially but in the heart.

On my commute from work to school, there I stood, as the bus travelled along picking up passengers. On came a gentleman with his child in hand sleeping on his shoulders, holding a bag in the other hand. He fought valiantly as he tried to maintain balance in the moving vehicle.

Immediately a fairly young rastafarian man beckoned to the father, offering up his seat.

Now you see why I said unexpected.

Chivalry is an almost extinct trait among the younger generation, compounded with a society that is extremely homophobic. To see a man giving up his seat to another man under any circumstance is rather surprising. This however highlighted the fact that all is not lost for the males of Jamaica.

Posted on September 12, 2013, in Geneneral and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Dwayne, when I’m on the road I try to look out for moments like these to remind myself why people love wi so 🙂 We don’t seem to love each other with all the news of killings etc but the love is truly there man. I was amazed to see a man take a seat beside another man on a JUTC… I thought he’d prefer to stand like others had opted to do. There is indeed hope for us.

    • Yes that is very rare. A lot of men seem to be so homophobic that they take it to ignorant levels. It was only recently that I was in the front of a taxi and a man was adamant that he didn’t want a man who was entering to sit beside him. Saying that only woman must rub up on him.

      • H, Dwayne. I can imagine that scene- that’s what happens a lot in the coasters as well. No man to the front, no man in the “goodas” seat (that little cross-seat between the driver and the front passenger, where you have to sit with your back to the road and everybody staring into yuh mawning 🙂 yes sah- as so wi stay sometime. It sad enuh. I can’t imagine being with someone who can’t hug his son. I don’t think it’s only about homophobia, but a level of emotional immaturity as well. Ignorance? Definitely.
        Aside: Lend me a minute of your time-http://articlesonlife.wordpress.com/2013/09/24/humour-me/. Tell me what you think?

      • Yes mi dear. I see it very much especially on buses in hwt area (Papine to HWT, Papine to Downtown, HWT to Spanish town) A man can’t dare enter the buss and turn left 🙂 smh

  2. Just when we wonder about the future of the human race (and I do, a lot!) things like this happen to reassure us that, as you say, all is not lost.

Leave a Reply

