How Cloud Storage Saved My Life


For those who don’t already know, cloud storage as defined by TechTarget, is a service model in which data is maintained, managed and backed up remotely and made available to users over a network (typically the Internet). In simple terms you get a storage location on the internet where you can store a backup of your files and have access to them anywhere providing you have internet access.dropbox

I have been using Dropbox, one of the more popular cloud storage services for a few years now. In 2011 when I started Excelsior Community College I created another Dropbox account with the sole purpose of storing all my school work (Soft copy of handouts, assignments, coursework etc.). I wanted to ensure that especially as it relates to coursework, I could pull up anyone at any given time just in case a lecturer said that they can’t find what I submitted.

On Friday May 31, 2013 I had a final coursework to hand in for my Systems Development course. As it was a course that had no final exam, my grade was dependent on all the documents that we had to put together following the Systems Development Life Cycle include a fully functional database-driven application. The entire portfolio was about 85% complete as the user manual for the application was not finished. Up until this point the application and its database was only stored on the computer. I decided to move it to the Dropbox folder in order to have everything in one place before burning to CD. I handed in the course work with the intention to hand in the user manual the following Monday.

That very evening the unthinkable happened! My vehicle, along with my laptop containing all my school work was stolen. It was undoubtedly the worst day of my life.

To complete the manual the working application was needed in order to create screenshots for visual explanation of performing tasks. Luckily I had copied the application to Dropbox. I had to give access to my files to another member of the group using Dropbox’s sharing feature, so she could get the application running on her computer and finish the manual. I don’t even want to think of the repercussions had I not been using Dropbox.

The manual was completed and handed in. We got an A- for that course!

I would advice anyone who uses a computer to start utilizing some form of cloud storage service if you value your data.

Posted on August 25, 2013, in Tech Tips and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

