The Show of Love


The loss of a loved one can be a very emotional and stressful situation. All kinds of memories float to the surface especially of really awesome times spent with that person, all the smiles that they drew on your face and the laughter that they pulled from the depths of your belly bottom :).

A few weeks ago an in-law went home to be with her heavenly father. I asked one of my cousins before he came to the island how he was holding up? He replied:

I’m good! My grandmother lived a long and good life.

Not everyone who has passed from this life can say that they had lived a “long and good life”. Ms. Sama however, undoubtedly did live a long and good life caring for her family and all whom she came in contact with, backed by the love she had for her church and God.

I had started photography as a hobby I wanted to capture moments of the Thanksgiving Service for my cousins as my contribution to the memories they will have of the day. These are just three (3) of the images I took that to me expressed the unspoken love that family members had for their loved one. I did some post-processing on them in Adobe Lightroom applying techniques I saw in a Youtube tutorial done by Serge Ramelli adding a touch of drama to the shot and placing more emphasis on the subjects in the photo.

Click on images for larger view.

Posted on August 14, 2013, in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

